Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Bingham Town FC app


5 sports clubs amongst winners in the Jewson Building Better Communities competition.

2 months ago By Pitch Hero

After winning the hearts of judges and voters five grassroots sports clubs have been named as winners in the Jewson Building Better Communities competition.

Following thousands of entries being submitted from across Great Britain, the following have been awarded a share of £250,000 in materials from the builders’ merchant.

  • Coventry Welsh RFC - £5,000
  • Norton Sports Charity - £3,000
  • Tadcaster Albion - £4,000
  • Howick Cricket Club - £3,000
  • Denham United Ladies Football Club - £1,500

Using their winnings, these clubs will make improvements to their facilities to encourage greater participation and more welcoming conditions for existing members.

This year’s Building Better Communities competition was launched in April 2018 and more than 2,400 entries – made up of good causes from up and down Great Britain – were submitted. These were later narrowed down to a shortlist and put to a public vote, with the winners announced at an awards ceremony held in Coventry on 3rd July.

At the event, a total of 37 good causes were presented with prizes by renowned architect and TV personality, George Clarke.

George Clarke commented: “It’s community projects like these which help bring people closer together and Jewson does great work in supporting them with Building Better Communities. This competition is a fantastic idea and it’s always great to see so many happy faces at the awards presentation.”

Jewson Managing Director, Thierry Dufour, added: “At Jewson, we believe in the positive power of community spirit and it is local causes such as this one that really bring this to life. By lending a helping hand to those who need it, we can help build better communities across Britain.”

Building Better Communities is being supported by Jewson supplier brands: Velux; Marshalls, Polypipe; British Gypsum; Tarmac; Recticel and Norbord. To see the full list of winners, visit:

Sun 23 Sep
Under 12 Girls Burton Joyce
League 10:00
Under 15 Girls West Bridgford Colts
League 10:30
Under 11 White Stapleford Town
Friendly 10:30
Under 14 Girls Gedling Southbank
League 12:15
Sat 29 Sep
Men's Saturday Eastwood CFC Development
League 15:00
Sun 30 Sep
Under 15 Girls Lincoln Griffins
League 10:30
Under 14 Girls Heanor All Stars
League 10:30
Under 12 Girls Eastwood
League 10:30
Under 11 White Eastwood Gold
League 10:30